Follow Us

On Facebook

Follow Us

On Instagram

Follow Us

On Twitter

Work Permits

INFORMATION

According to the West Virginia Division of Labor, we cannot issue work permits for out of state employment.

You must contact the high school that serves the community where the place of employment is located.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING WORK PERMIT FOR 14 AND 15 YEARS OF AGE

STUDENTS WHO ARE 14 OR 15 YEARS OF AGE

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A WORK PERMIT

For teenagers who want to work, the Child Labor Law (WV Code ß 21-6) requires that minors 14 and 15 years of age obtain work permits, and those 16 and 17 years of age (upon request of the employer) obtain age certificates from the Boards of Education in the counties in which they live.

A copy of the permit or certificate is forwarded to the Division of Labor who is charged with the responsibility of assuring the minor is not working in an unsafe environment or performing duties not suitable to their age.

According to the West Virginia Division of Labor, we cannot issue work permits for out of state employment.

If you have any questions regarding this matter please contact the CTE Dept. at Brooke County Board of Education, 304-737-3481, Extension 35.

Please see the following link for Work Permit Application

http://www.wvlabor.com/newwebsite/Documents/wageforms/Work%20Permit.pdf

  1. The following sections are to be filled out and signed:

Section A: By the employer Section B: By the parent/legal guardian Section C: By the principal Section D: By the CTE Dept.

  1. Attach a copy of the student’s CERTIFIED STATE BIRTH CERTIFICATE. Return application to Center Two Office

  2. The Work Permit is then sent to the CTE Dept. for review. Once it is approved, Mr. Starcher will meet with the student on a designated day, place and time. During this meeting, Mr. Starcher will sign and make three copies of the permit. The student will receive two copies, one for their employer and one for their own records. The original will be kept in the CTE Dept. and a copy mailed to WV Department of Labor.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING AN AGE CERTIFICATE 16 OR 17 YEARS OF AGE

STUDENTS WHO ARE 16 OR 17 YEARS OF AGE

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING AN AGE CERTIFICATE

For teenagers who want to work, the Child Labor Law (WV Code ß 21-6) requires that minors 14 and 15 years of age obtain work permits, and those 16 and 17 years of age (upon request of the employer) obtain age certificates from the Boards of Education in the counties in which they live.

A copy of the permit or certificate is forwarded to the Division of Labor who is charged with the responsibility of assuring the minor is not working in an unsafe environment or performing duties not suitable to their age.

According to the West Virginia Division of Labor, we cannot issue age certificates or work permits for out of state employment.

If you have any questions regarding this matter please contact the CTE Dept. at Brooke County Board of Education, 304-737-3481, Extension 35.

  1. The potential employer needs to complete an Intention to Employ form. (See link for Age Certificate below) http://www.wvlabor.com/newwebsite/Documents/wageforms/age%20certificate.pdf

  2. A copy of the student’s CERTIFIED STATE BIRTH CERTIFICATE needs to be attached. These forms are returned to the Center Two Office and then forwarded to the Career Tech Office at Brooke County Board of Education.

  3. An Age Certificate is then typed up and signed by the student and the CTE Director. The student will receive two copies, one for their employer and one for their own records. The original will be kept in the CTE Dept. and a copy mailed to WV Department of Labor.